Trucking, Texting and Driving Ohio

Trucking: Watch out for this new driving law in Ohio

There’s nothing worse than being pulled over when you didn’t know that you were doing anything wrong. Whether it be a light that has gone out mid-drive or a new law that was put into place, it happens to the best of us.

That’s why it is so important for those in the trucking industry to be on top of their stuff. That includes doing their their pre-trip checks and keeping up with local, regional, and national laws.

Recently, there have been updates to a texting and driving law in the state of Ohio that could affect truckers, regular drivers, and anybody else behind the wheel.

Truckers – make sure you’re aware of this update to texting and driving laws in Ohio

Trucking, Phones Down Ohio
Trucking, Phones Down Ohio

If you’re having trouble interpreting the graphic, I’ll simplify it for you – stay off of your phone.

As is laid out by the state of Ohio, most actions that go beyond a single touch, swipe, or click will be against the law. This doesn’t mean you cannot use your phone at all.

Some options for phone use include taking calls on speakerphone, through an earpiece or wireless headset, using a smart watch, and connecting your phone to your vehicle via Bluetooth.

You should, however, avoid anything that is not a hands-free action. This includes, but is not limited to, dialing a phone number, sending a text, browsing social media, taking a video call, browsing the web, watching videos, playing games, and recording a video.

Penalties can stretch from a distracted driving course up to a $500 fine and 90-day suspension of your driver’s license. It’s not worth it.

Ohio State Police will be giving out warnings for the first three months of this new law – that’ll reach until October 4th, 2023. After that, drivers will begin to receive citations.